Making your TV viewing decisions easy

Junior Eurovision returns to SBS2 with more cute kids than you can handle

NewsKevin Perry
   Georgia McCarthy,     Jessica Mauboy and Andre Nookadu ready for Junior Eurovision.  image - supplied/SBS

Georgia McCarthy, Jessica Mauboy and Andre Nookadu ready for Junior Eurovision.
image - supplied/SBS

The Voice Kids might be headed towards TV oblivion, but SBS is ready to fill the junior singing void with Junior Eurovision.

All the classic Eurovision action – power ballads, wind machines, kitsch costumes, novelty props, pyrotechnics and glitter – is coming to SBS 2; just in a smaller, cuter package with the Junior Eurovision Song Contest returning on Sunday November 16. 

Following the rapturous reception of Jessica Mauboy's performance in the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest semi-final, Jess will introduce this year’s junior competition, before handing over to two of Australia's young stars of tomorrow Georgia McCarthy and Andre Nookadu who will help audiences discover and rally behind their favourite 10 to 15 year old superstar performers as they vie for Eurovision glory.

Taking "Togetherness" as its theme, the 2014 Junior Eurovision Song Contest will broadcast live from Marsa, Malta, where the brightest young stars from 16 countries will compete for the title of Junior Eurovision Song Contest Champion.

The show will be held at the former shipyard in Marsa and will be hosted by popular Maltese TV presenter Moira Delia.

Like the grown-up version, The Junior Eurovision Song Contest winner is chosen by a combined vote of the official jury panel, together with the ranking points handed out by viewers in each participating country. The rules differ slightly as prizes are awarded to first, second and third placegetters.

The 16 countries battling it out in this year’s contest are Armenia, Belarus, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Georgia, Italy, Malta, Montenegro, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Slovenia, Sweden, The Netherlands, and Ukraine.

The mini songster who takes out the title this year is also given the opportunity to be a part of the 2015 Eurovision Song Contest in Vienna, Austria.