Making your TV viewing decisions easy

SBS confirms A-League lineup ahead of new season

SportKevin Perry
  Craig Foster, Lucy Zelic and David Zdrilic are ready for a new season of A-League  image - supplied/SBS

Craig Foster, Lucy Zelic and David Zdrilic are ready for a new season of A-League
image - supplied/SBS

The Hyundai A-League, Australia’s premier football competition, returns to SBS on October 10, when Melbourne Victory take on the Western Sydney Wanderers live from Etihad Stadium.

With key international players and local stars, the 10th season of the Hyundai A-league is set to deliver the best season yet. 

This year Melbourne City and Sydney FC have made significant marquee signings, including Spanish SuperstarDavid Villa (Melbourne City), former Chelsea player and Ireland international, Damien Duff (Melbourne City) and current Austria national team striker, Marc Janko (Sydney FC).

There is also the return of local talent and Socceroos stars, including Mark Milligan (Melbourne Victory), Matthew Spiranovic (Western Sydney Wanderers), Tomi Juric (Western Sydney Wanders), Matt McKay (Brisbane Roar), Alex Brosque (Sydney FC), Thomas Broich (Brisbane Roar), Marcos Flores (Newcastle Jets) and Archie Thompson (Melbourne Victory).

SBS’s live Friday night match coverage will be hosted by David Zdrilic, with live match commentary by David Basheer and Lucy Zelic pitch side with onsite interviews and match reports.

As well as a live match every Friday night, SBS will broadcast a season preview show at 10pm (AEDT) on Sunday, 5 October on SBS2, with an A-League highlights show titled, A-League Extra Time, continuing in the same timeslot throughout the season, hosted by Lucy Zelic and co-hosted by David Zdrilic.

Both Lucy and David are well known to Australia’s football audience, having shared hosting duties of the 2014 FIFA World Cup for SBS, which reached 10.7 million viewers across the entire month. 

Throughout the season the A-league hosts will also be joined by SBS chief football analyst, Craig Foster, along with a range of Socceroos and A-League stars both past and present.

The Hyundai A-League is live and free on Fridays, 7.30pm (AEDT) on SBS ONE, SBS HD and



SBS Broadcast schedule:


2014/2015 Hyundai A-League Season Preview

10pm (AEDT) Sunday 5 October on SBS 2


Melbourne Victory v Western Sydney

7:30pm (AEDT) Friday 10 October on SBS ONE and SBS HD


Adelaide Utd v Melbourne Victory

7:30pm (AEDT) Friday 17 October on SBS ONE and SBS HD


Brisbane Roar v Sydney FC

7:30pm (AEDT) Friday 24 October on SBS ONE and SBS HD


Melbourne City v Adelaide United

7:30pm (AEDT) Friday 31 October on SBS ONE and SBS HD


Full SBS match schedule here.


A-League Extra Time

10pm (AEDT) Sundays from Sunday 12 October on SBS 2