Making your TV viewing decisions easy

W-League Football returns to @ABCTV this weekend

SportKevin Perry
The W-League returns to Free to Air Television image - supplied/ABCTV

The W-League returns to Free to Air Television
image - supplied/ABCTV

In a positive boost for women's football, ABC TV has partnered with Football Federation Australia (FFA) and Fox Sports to bring the W-League back to free-to-air television.

ABCTV will broadcast each Sunday afternoon ‘match of the round’ live in AEST timezone areas, which will be staged as a double header with the Hyundai A-League match.


The deal which was negotiated last month, is a welcome turnaround from a decision made by the ABC last year to dump the code due to Federal Government budget cuts.


Providing commentary during the games will be ABC TV sports presenter Stephanie Brantz along with former Matildas Amy Duggan and Sarah Walsh.


Kicking off the season are the Westfield W-League Champions Canberra United as they take on Brisbane Roar in the first broadcast match, live (AEST) this Sunday from 2pm on ABC.


ABC TV and Fox Sports will also broadcast the two Westfield W-League semi-finals on 23-24 January as well as the W-League 2016 Grand Final on 31 January, which will be a standalone event.

"We're thrilled to be able to bring back the W-League season to our audience thanks to the great collaboration between the FFA, FOX SPORTS and the ABC. Now fans and audiences across Australia can continue to enjoy this growing sport on free-to-air television," said Richard Finlayson, ABC's Director of Television.


ABC TV will broadcast the below matches live (AEST) each Sunday:

18 October – Brisbane Roar v Canberra United

25 October – Melbourne City v Melbourne Victory

1 November – Western Sydney Wanderers v Sydney FC

8 November – Canberra United v Melbourne City

15 November – Brisbane Roar v Perth Glory

22 November – Adelaide United v Newcastle Jets

29 November – Western Sydney Wanderers v Canberra United

6 December – Adelaide United v Perth Glory

13 December – Newcastle Jets v Melbourne City

20 December – Sydney FC v Brisbane RoaR

27 December – Melbourne Victory v Sydney FC

3 January 2016 - Newcastle Jets v Melbourne Victor