Making your TV viewing decisions easy

James Brayshaw quits Nine's Summer Of Cricket

SportKevin Perry

James Brayshaw (right) will not be a member of Nine’s commentary team this summer.
image source - News Corp

The Nine Network has confirmed its cricket commentary team today, however one name was notably missing from the list.

TV and Radio Broadcaster and host of The AFL Footy Show, James Brayshaw will not be a member of Nine’s commentary team this summer.

DeciderTV understands Brayshaw opted to take a break from TV commentary this summer while he explores potential career-changing opportunities.

Rumours persist that Brayshaw is considering a switch to the Seven Network where he could potentially replace Dennis Cometti in a football commentary role. Although it wouldn’t be the first time that a network personality has threatened to switch networks in order to seek a pay-rise from his existing employer.

Brayshaw will remain the voice for Cricket Australia’s junior cricket marketing campaign, and is also expected to play a key role in broadcasting the game nationally on the Triple M radio network.

Triple M has signed a two-year deal with Cricket Australia which will see it provide live coverage of the 3 Test matches between Australia and Pakistan from December, the radio network will also broadcast the Ashes Test Series played in Australia in the 2017-18 season.

Triple M has recruited former Nine Network Head of Cricket, Brad McNamara to produce its cricket coverage. Prior to his departure in July, McNamara oversaw Nine’s cricket coverage for nine seasons.

From December, there will 29 Triple M radio stations across Australia, the network is promising to provide an ‘entertainment’ focused coverage of cricket similar to its AFL and NRL broadcasts. The full commentary line-up for Triple M will be announced shortly.

The decision from Brayshaw comes at a time of renew for Nine’s sports coverage. The 2016-17 season will be the first summer led by new Head of Sport, Tom Malone and new Head of Cricket, Brent Williams.

Nine’s coverage of the summer of cricket will be hosted by Mark Nicholas. The Wide World of Sports commentary team for the Australia v South Africa Test Series will be led by Mark Taylor, and will include Shane Warne, Ian Chappell, Michael Slater, Ian Healy, Michael Clarke and former England player, Kevin Pietersen.

Nine has previously confirmed former cricketers Brett Lee and Michael Hussey will no longer be involved in the TV coverage. The network is expected to make use of current Women’s players Ellyse Perry and Alyssa Healy throughout the season.