Making your TV viewing decisions easy

Little Lunch returns with Halloween & Christmas specials

NewsMedia Release

Little Lunch Series 1 - L-R Faith Seci as Debra-Jo, Olivia Deeble as Tamara, Madison Lu as Melanie, Josh Sitch as Atticus, Heidi Arena as Mrs Gonsha, Flynn Curry as Rory and Oisin O'Leary as Battie
image - supplied/ABCTV

The hugely successful Australian children’s series, Little Lunch, will commence filming 2 x 30’ Halloween and Christmas specials for ABC3 in Melbourne this week.

Based on the popular books, written by Danny Katz and illustrated by Mitch Vane, and adapted by Gristmill Productions, both new episodes will feature all original cast members including; Rory (Flynn Curry), Atticus (Joshua Sitch), Battie (Oisin O’Leary), Melanie (Madison Lu), Debra-Jo (Faith Seci), Tamara (Olivia Deeble) and Heidi Arena (The Librarians, Nowhere Boys and Heidi’s Kitchen) as Mrs Gonsha.

Both stories will be written by Gristmill’s Robyn Butler, who will also make her directorial debut shooting the Christmas special.  Tim Bartley will direct the Halloween episode.

Producers Butler and Hope say, “We missed the kids, we missed the school, but mostly we missed the cheese sticks. It will be great to be reunited with all of them.”

Since premiering in 2015, the Little Lunch series has entertained the nation on ABC3 and has racked up over 3 million plays on ABC iview.

ABC TV Director of Television, Richard Finlayson says “Little Lunch is back – and bigger than ever! One of ABC3 and iview’s most successful Australian children’s shows returns in two bumper episodes this Halloween and Christmas. We can’t wait to see Rory, Atticus, Battie, Melanie, Debra-Jo and Tamara once again mesmerise our primary school audience and their families with their wonderful insights and observations”.

Little Lunch is a series of funny and touching adventures during snack time in the school playground and both new episodes will air on ABC3 and iview this year.

Production Credit:  A Gristmill Production in association with ABC3, Australian Children’s Television Foundation, Screen Australia and Film Victoria. Produced by Robyn Butler and Wayne Hope. Executive Producers Robyn Butler, Wayne Hope and Geoff Porz. ACTF Executive Producer Bernadette O’Mahony. ABC Executive Producer Chris Rose.