DeciderTV

Making your TV viewing decisions easy

AFL Women’s All-Stars Match - Live this Saturday on Seven | #AFL @7Sport

SportMedia Release

Abbey Holmes
image source - News Corp

The best female players in the country set to showcase their skill in a Saturday Night Footy special “live” on Channel 7 and 7mate. Rising star Abbey Holmes will headline Channel Seven’s commentary team for the first ever AFL Women’s All-Stars Match in prime time.

The match at the Whitten Oval featuring the best female players in Australia will be shown on Channel 7 and 7mate at 7pm AEST on Saturday, September 3. It will be the second leg of a special double feature on Seven as part of the AFL’s “Celebration of Football” Week, with the EJ Whitten Legends Game set for prime time on Friday, September 2.

It will be a big weekend for Holmes in particular, given she will either commentate or play in three football matches televised on the network in under 72 hours.

For Saturday night’s Women’s All-Stars Match, Holmes will be an expert commentator alongside Cameron Ling, joining play-by-play callers Basil Zempilas and Jason Bennett and Sam Lane in position as a boundary reporter.

As well as those duties, Holmes will also feature as a player in the EJ Whitten Legends Match the night before, representing the “All Stars” against Victoria.

Then, to round out her “triple duty”, the 25-year-old will continue her role as part of the commentary team for the VFL, working as a boundary reporter for the Port Melbourne v Sandringham VFL Elimination Final at 2.30pm on Sunday.

Holmes is well placed to provide expert comments on the Women’s All-Stars Match given her high profile as a player in the female game.

The Women’s All-Stars Match will pit the Western Bulldogs against Melbourne, with the best players in the country assigned to either team.

TV Broadcast times: Saturday, September 3
Western Bulldogs v Melbourne (Whitten Oval)

Melbourne: 7:00pm LIVE on Channel 7 and 7HD Channel 70
Adelaide: 6:30pm LIVE on Channel 7 and 7HD Channel 70
Perth: 5:00pm LIVE on 7mate and 7HD Channel 70
Sydney: 7:00pm LIVE on 7mate and 7HD Channel 70
Brisbane: 7:00pm LIVE on 7mate and 7HD Channel 70

Comments