Making your TV viewing decisions easy

The 2017 Allan Border Medal - Live on 9GEM | @Channel9

SportMedia Release

David Warner
image source -

The Nine Network will broadcast Australian cricket’s night of nights – the 2017 Allan Border Medal awards ceremony – on Monday, January 23, at 7.30pm, live and free on 9GEM.

Nine sports presenters Julie Snook and James Bracey will open the night by reporting on all the action and fashion from the Red Carpet.

Nine cricket commentator and former test player, Michael Slater, will host the annual awards ceremony, live from The Star, Sydney. Presenters for the evening will include fellow Nine commentary team members Michael Clarke, Mark Taylor and Ian Healy, as well as Australian coach Darren Lehmann, fast bowling great Glenn McGrath, Australian captain Steve Smith and Meg Lanning, captain of the Australian women’s team.

Starring the Who’s Who of the cricketing world, the evening celebrates Australia’s best male and female cricketers by honouring them for their high achievements over the year, with the Test Player of the Year Award, the One Day International Player of the Year Award and the T20 International Player of the Year Award, as well as the two premier honours – the Allan Border Medal for the most outstanding Australian cricketer of the past season, and the Belinda Clark Award for the women’s player of the year.

A highlight of the evening will be the induction of three cricket legends into the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame. Two of Australia’s greatest top-order batsmen, David Boon and Matthew Hayden, and the brilliant women’s all-rounder Betty Wilson.

The increasingly significant role of women’s cricket will be celebrated with two inaugural awards: the Betty Wilson Young Cricketer Award for the best emerging women’s player as voted by the playing group, and the Women’s Domestic Player of the Year Award.

9GEM will also count down the Top Five moments in Australian cricket of all time as voted by the general public and Nine’s commentary team.