I Spit on your Grave movies in order

Watch All 5 I Spit on Your Grave Movies in Order

With a legacy that spans over four decades, the “I Spit on Your Grave” franchise has become a staple in the horror genre. To fully grasp the evolution of this gritty and controversial series, it’s necessary to watch the films in chronological order. From the original 1978 cult classic to the latest installment, each movie offers a unique perspective on revenge and survival. Follow this guide to experience the full impact of the I Spit on Your Grave movies in order they were released.

Key Takeaways of I Spit on Your Grave Movies in Order

  • Watch the movies in order: It is recommended to watch the “I Spit on your Grave” movies in order (2010, 2013, 2015, and 2019) to follow the storyline and character development.
  • Evolution of revenge: The films explore themes of revenge, justice, and empowerment as the main character seeks vengeance against those who have wronged her in brutal ways.
  • Graphic content: Be prepared for intense and graphic scenes of violence, abuse, and revenge in these films, as they depict disturbing and harrowing situations.
  • Impactful performances: The cast delivers powerful performances, especially Sarah Butler who portrays the protagonist, Jennifer Hills, as she seeks retribution for the crimes committed against her.
  • Controversial but thought-provoking: The “I Spit on your Grave” movies spark debates about the portrayal of violence and revenge in cinema, making them thought-provoking pieces of filmmaking.

The Original 1978 Classic

“I Spit on Your Grave” (1978)

"I Spit on Your Grave" (1978)

One of the most controversial and talked-about films in the history of horror cinema, “I Spit on Your Grave” (1978) sparked debates and discussions upon its release. Directed by Meir Zarchi, the film follows the story of a writer who is brutally assaulted and left for dead by four men, only to seek a bloody and merciless revenge on her attackers.

IMDb Rating 5.6/10


Understanding the Impact and Reception

Controversial upon its release, “I Spit on Your Grave” received mixed reactions from critics and audiences alike. While some hailed it as a groundbreaking piece of feminist cinema that highlighted the horrors of sexual violence, others condemned it for its extreme violence and graphic content. Despite the polarizing opinions, the film undeniably left a lasting impact on the horror genre and sparked discussions about the depiction of violence against women in film.

The Reboot Trilogy

“I Spit on Your Grave” (2010)

"I Spit on Your Grave" (2010)

I Spit on Your Grave is a gripping and intense thriller released in 2010, directed by Steven R. Monroe. The film follows the story of Jennifer Hills, a young writer who retreats to a secluded cabin to work on her novel. However, her peaceful solitude is shattered when she is brutally attacked by a group of men. Left for dead, Jennifer miraculously survives and embarks on a vengeful mission to seek justice against her assailants. The movie explores themes of revenge, resilience, and the harrowing realities of violence against women.

Through its raw and unflinching portrayal of Jennifer’s journey, I Spit on Your Grave confronts viewers with uncomfortable truths about the nature of evil and the strength of the human spirit. It’s a film that leaves a lasting impact, challenging audiences to confront the darkness that lurks within society while also celebrating the power of survival and redemption.

IMDb Rating 6.2/10


“I Spit on Your Grave 2” (2013)

"I Spit on Your Grave 2" (2013)

Reimagining the revenge narrative, “I Spit on Your Grave 2” (2013) explores deeper into the repercussions of seeking vengeance, showcasing a new story of brutality and survival.

Understanding the consequences of seeking justice through violent means, the second installment of the reboot trilogy challenges viewers with its unflinching portrayal of the protagonist’s relentless pursuit of retribution.

IMDb Rating 5.7/10


“I Spit on Your Grave III: Vengeance is Mine” (2015)

"I Spit on Your Grave III: Vengeance is Mine" (2015)

Your journey through the Reboot Trilogy culminates in “I Spit on Your Grave III: Vengeance is Mine” (2015), providing a satisfying conclusion to the series while continuing to explore the raw and gritty themes of the franchise.

Revenge takes center stage once again as the final chapter in the reboot trilogy offers closure to the protagonist’s story, wrapping up the intense tale of survival and retribution.

IMDb Rating 5.1/10


Extended Universe

“I Spit on Your Grave: Deja Vu” (2019)

"I Spit on Your Grave: Deja Vu" (2019)

One of the most recent additions to the ‘I Spit on Your Grave’ universe is “I Spit on Your Grave: Deja Vu” released in 2019. This film serves as the official sequel to the original 1978 cult classic, bringing back actress Camille Keaton in her iconic role as Jennifer Hills. The story follows Jennifer as she seeks revenge against those who have wronged her, delivering the same intense and shocking narrative that fans have come to expect from this franchise.

IMDb Rating 2.4/10


Viewing Guide

Recommended Viewing Order

Recommended viewing order for the I Spit on Your Grave series is as follows: Start with the original 1978 film, followed by its sequels, I Spit on Your Grave (2010), I Spit on Your Grave 2 (2013), and I Spit on Your Grave: Vengeance is Mine (2015). Finally, watch the most recent installment, I Spit on Your Grave: Deja Vu (2019), to complete the series in chronological order.

Where to Find the Movies

Where to Find the Movies

An important aspect of enjoying the I Spit on Your Grave series is knowing where to find the movies. These films are available for streaming on platforms like Amazon Prime, Hulu, and Shudder, or for purchase on DVD and Blu-ray. Make sure to check these platforms for availability and pricing before starting your viewing journey.

Find these movies on popular streaming platforms like Amazon Prime, Hulu, and Shudder, or consider purchasing them on DVD or Blu-ray for your collection. Keep in mind that availability may vary by region, so be sure to check each platform for the most up-to-date information on where to find the I Spit on Your Grave movies.

To wrap up

The arrangement in which to watch the I Spit on Your Grave movies is crucial for a fully immersive experience. By starting with the original 1978 version followed by its sequels and then moving on to the 2010 remake and its subsequent installments, viewers will appreciate the evolution of the storyline and characters over time. This curated order adds depth to the overall viewing experience and allows fans to truly understand the impact and legacy of this notorious film series.

We also Covered these Horror Movies in order:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *